Podcasting with senior broadcasting student Ricky Cornish

Our assignment for Kent State this week was to conduct a podcasting interview program. For those of you who know me, you know that I always have BIG dreams. The podcast I planned had all kinds of natural sound and sections of singing from last weeks’ musical Cinderella at Faith Lutheran. Usually, I would say I am visually very good at storytelling, however audio without video is another medium where I lack much experience.

I planned out my podcast by setting up the interview with Cinderella between blocks at school because that was her only availability. She’s a busy girl that Cinderella. Anyway, nothing worked. I have amazing soundbites but doors slamming, bell ringing and students yelling in the back round interrupted my beautiful interview! What I learned from this is it is very important to be somewhere quiet where we will not be disturbed for the duration of the interview.

Since the interviews were unusable, I went to Plan B which actually I am very pleased with. Senior Ricky Cornish, has been a student of mine since the 8th grade. He is well spoken and is possibly as passionate about journalism as I am. So I sat down and spoke to him about his journey with broadcasting. I interviewed him in a soundproof room where we do voiceovers. I used a Shure microphone stick mic that we use for broadcast with cameras. With Cinderella, I used a clip on microphone. I do not recommend this for a two person interview. In hindsight, that is where I should have had Cinderella meet me. You see, better planning will make for a better podcast!

Finally, I learned that live podcasting is fun, and easy for me as far as flowing with conversation. I know I need to work on saying “um’s, and uh’s” but I wound up going off script because sometimes as I tell my students your interviewee can guide the interview into another direction. In my experience, a good interview comes from listening  not following your questions as much. Just use the questions as a guideline.

The technicalities of editing and uploading are enough for me to never do this again, however. Adding music and natural sound would have been something I would have liked to learn about and work on and practice more throughout the time in Teaching Multi Media.

Here are some tips for you for your podcast that I learned.

  1. Be prepared for your entire podcast but be flexible if things don’t work out.
  2. Record in a quiet place.
  3. Let your interview flow naturally, do not try to stick so much to the script.
  4. When editing in Audacity, have patience, save everything and use a mouse.
  5. Google for help, nobody really can help you besides practice and watching tutorials.
  6. REMEMBER who you are serving. YOUR AUDIENCE!

Overall, it was a learning experience and I hope you enjoy listening to Ricky. He is a dynamic student and an even better communicator. I am excited to see where all of his hard work takes him.

Podcast

Standard

Leave a Reply

